August 2017 Mixtape


The August Mixtape is here! The mix kicks off with a track from one of our favourite albums of the summer: ‘God First‘ by Jack Steadman (aka Mr Jukes). It’s then followed by a summer-charged anthem by Holy ’57 called “Island Kids.” There’s a collaboration between Mount Kimbie and King Krule and brand new tracks from Sofi Tukker, Tom Misch, and Sober Rob.

The mix goes electronic (and a bit ominous) with THNK VOID’s LO-FI mini mix… it’s like a mix within a mix.

There’s also a very special new track from an electronic duo called “The Blaze” that has a stunning video that goes along with it. If you get a chance after listening to the mixtape, you should go check out the video… it’s worth it.

And finally we finish you off with a near masterpiece by Kan Wakan called “Phantasmagoria Pt. 1.”

The New LoFi monthly mixtape is an hour-long mix covering all of the music posted to the blog last month. Want to be cooler than all your friends with the latest tracks from artists you’ve never heard of? This is the mix you need to listen to.

Learn more about each artist by clicking on the track title in the playlist below. You can also download the whole mix by right clicking on the title of the podcast and selecting “Save As…”

…or just stream the mix below:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

TNLF 2017 August Mixtape


Holy ’57

Holy '57

Alex Mankoo is the London-based artist behind Holy ’57. Through his music Mankoo looks to explore the joys and tensions between his Indian and Greek heritage whilst growing up in the UK.

His latest single, “Water // Chrome” is filled with punchy drums and a low bass that draws from contemporary hip-hop influences. The guitars round out the track and call to mind the bittersweet productions of Vampire Weekend, Inspired and the Sleep and Unknown Mortal Orchestra.

Holy ’57 – Water // Chrome

Holy ’57 – Island Kids

Mount Kimbie: Blue Train Lines (feat. King Krule)


Following the success of “You Took Your Time”, very few will argue against the idea of Mount Kimbie reuniting with King Krule on yet another project.

Their latest collaboration, “Blue Train Lines“, creates a rebellious atmosphere due to the grittiness of the rising synth-lines coupled with King Krule’s vocal delivery —one that could, somehow, easily find a home in both the punk and rap world. In typical King Krule fashion, the song is also sprinkled with random outbursts from the singer that resemble tired screams of frustration. To further breathe life into the single, Mount Kimbie recruited directors Raf Fellner and Tegen Williams to take control of the visuals and it goes without saying that they exquisitely played their role in giving “Blue Train Lines” an even more interesting demeanor than it already possessed.

According to Frank Lebon of Mount Kimbie, “the Blue Train Lines video is a fictional re-creation of two Anthropologists (Robert. F. H and Theodora. K played by Raf. F and Tegen. W) who have been called in by the authorities to study a man they seem to believe is the last of the Yahi of California. Upon stumbling into civilisation in 1910 the man unknowingly became the life’s work and obsession of a pair of human scientists who housed and cared for him while they studied his every move.”

Watch the official video for “Blue Train Lines” below:

Mount Kimbie – Blue Train Lines (feat. King Krule)

Weekend Bangers


It’s another instalment of Weekend Bangers; A serious exploration into some filthy dirty bass. Get involved.

Boys Noize – Oh! (A-Trak Remix)
This is a bit of a blast from the past but it’s good enough to bring back for a bit of weekend bangering. Released in 2008 but Boys Noize, A-Trak gave it the remix treatment three years later. The result will get your dancing feet moving.

Wax Motif – Tokyo
Wax Motif’s lead single off his upcoming Tokyo EP on Confession

Proxy – Magic Word
Russia’s PROXY has returned from the shadows with a new EP on Nightbass Records featuring AC Slater

Ben Stevenson – Honeycola


Toronto-based singer/songwriter, Ben Stevenson has just teamed up with BADBADNOTGOOD’s Matthew Tavares for his new single “Honeycola.” It’s smooth summer butter on the ears.

“The song is about a muse,” Stevenson explains. “A near mythical creature who is at once alluring yet terrifying. She embodies truth and beauty and forces you to realize that you cannot hold on to either…you allow it to pass through or lose it altogether.”

Stevenson’s upcoming 11-track album, Cara Cara, is due out this September and will draw on a wide range of influences. While “Honeycola” is laid back and soulful, you’ll hear other songs pull inspiration from Brazilian samba, jazz and the “glam strut” of bands like T Rex.

BADBADNOTGOOD is not the only colaboration on the album either. There is a number of cameos from fellow Canadian music makers, including Daniel Caesar, Project Pablo, Birthday Boy, and Joseph Shabason of Destroyer.

Look out for Cara Cara this September from Culvert Music.

Ben Stevenson – Honeycola

Kan Wakan – Phantasmagoria Pt. 1

Screen Shot 2017-07-20 at 23.11.22

Gueorgui Linev is the producer, film composer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist behind the band Kan Wakan. Born in Bulgaria, Linev is now based in LA and was recently named “one of the top 10 young songwriters in Los Angeles” in LA Weekly.

Having produced and worked with the likes of Moses Sumney, Thundercat, Tosin Abasi, and scored critically acclaimed feature film “Dead Draw”, it was time to incorporate a few collaborations of his own. On his upcoming LP, Phantasmagoria, Kan Wakan incorporates guest vocalists and collaborations into an immersive melding of organic and electronic production mixed in with the orchestral flourishes of the Sofia Philharmonic orchestra.

Kan Wakan – Phantasmagoria Pt. 1

Sofi Tukker – Fuck They


This week indie dance duo SOFI TUKKER shared their defiant new single “Fuck They.” It’s club banger. The track was co-written with Scissor Sisters’ Jake Shears and Evermore’s Jon Hume. The group says “‘they’ is anything that holds you back from being who you are. Whoever ‘they’ is in your life or in your mind, Fuck They! Who’s they anyway?”

The release comes ahead of festival dates including appearances at Panorama, Outside Lands and Lollapalooza, as well as fall tour dates with Seattle juggernauts ODESZA on their “A Moment Apart” tour.

Sofi Tukker – Fuck They

Thnk Void


THNK VOID is a project created by LA-based producer Jonny B. Wright. Originally from Michigan, Wright moved to New York City in 2006 to explore being a musician and vocalist on Broadway. In 2010 he decided to move to LA in order to focus on producing music.

When talking about why he started creating music, Wright says that he wanted to “have a place to explore the sound that would ease my unconscious/subconscious—a place to catch a vibe—a place to survive, honestly haha.”

THNK VOID takes inspiration from a wide range of musicians. Wright’s live show is a great example of this. When he DJs he spins a variety of 70s soul and psychedelic rock records with samples of more modern artists mixed in. It’s one of the reasons why it’s so hard to fit THNK VOID into a specific genre. “Of course I’ve dabbled into making it more this or more that genre,” admits Wright. “But music just creates itself. I’m FINALLY realizing this and just getting out of the way as much as possible.”

Listen to THNK VOID’s LoFi mini-mix below and look out for more genre bending sounds from this man soon.