The New LoFi

Ten Years

January 2020 Mixtape

A new year is upon us. A new decade has begun! To celebrate, we’ve compiled a few of our favorite tracks posted to the blog last year along with some new music we’ve just discovered. The theme is positive vibes and up-beat tempos.

This month’s mixtape includes new music from Big Wild, Modeselektor, Overmono, Dark Sky, Floating Points, and Leon Vynehall. There’s an Anderson .Paak remix, a collaboration between Nightmares On Wax and Fat Freddy’s Drop, and a badass new track from HAAi as well. The mix is wrapped up in two new songs from one of our favorite artist, Amon Tobin. After years of releasing music, the Brazilian producer embarked on an eight year hiatus. So you can just imagine how excited we were to learn that he released not one, but two albums last year.

The first track on this mixtape is from Amon Tobin’s new album Long Stories. And the mixtape finishes with a song off of his 2nd release in 2019: Fear in a Handful of Dust. That last track is called “Velvet Owl” and it sounds like a purring neon light (if lights could have a sound). It sounds like a winged motorcycle, hovering over a forest at night. It sounds bad ass.

But enough talking about the mixtape. You have to hear the music. So get your tape decks ready, and hit play on the first mixtape of the new decade.

The Monthly Mixtape is now available on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Acast and many other podcast providers. Or check out The Infinite Mixtape on Spotify — a playlist that collects every song ever used in a Monthly Mixtape.

You can also download the whole mix by right clicking on the title of the mixtape and selecting “Save As…”

…or just stream the mix below:

TNLF January 2020 Mixtape
  1. Amon Tobin – One Shy Morning (08:32)
  2. Cujo – The Brazilianaire (11:57)
  3. Big Wild – 6’s to 9’s (feat. Rationale) (18:06)
  4. Big Wild – 6’s to 9’s (Neil Frances Remix) (21:42)
  5. LUXXURY – Change Yr Mind (ft. Adeline) (24:56)
  6. Lumoon & Robin – Want It Back (Saison Reedit) (30:18)
  7. Justin Faust – Spellbound (35:03)
  8. Fat Freddy’s Drop – Russia (Nightmares on Wax Remix) (39:33)
  9. Fede Lng x Anderson .Paak – One At The Time (Am I Wrong sample) (46:22)
  10. HAAi – Drumting (52:02)
  11. Modeselektor – WMF Love Song (57:44)
  12. FISHER – Losing it (01:00:48)
  13. Leon Vynehall – I, Cavallo (01:04:32)
  14. Overmono – iii’s Front (01:08:16)
  15. Overmono – Quadraluv (01:09:05)
  16. Dark Sky x Afriquoi – Cold Harbour (01:12:50)
  17. Floating Points – LesAlpx (01:16:57)
  18. Amon Tobin – Velvet Owl (01:21:07)