The New LoFi

Ten Years

Money Mark

Mark Ramos-Nishita aka Money Mark is a producer and musician who has collaborated with the Beastie Boys many times. He also appears on the first Banyan album in 1997 as the Freeway Keyboardist.

His first album, the relatively obscure Mark’s Keyboard Repair (1995), was made up of keyboard driven pop-funk songs recorded at demo quality. It was followed up by the Third Version EP in 1996 and Push the Button in 1998. Whereas his 1996 EP was similar to his debut, Push the Button was extremely eclectic, combining aspects of rock music and pop with soul, funk and hip hop. This LP was met with good reviews, as was his 2001 follow up Change is Coming which had a tropical yet danceable disco and funk sound.

Money Mark contributed the keyboard phrase that opens and underpins “Where It’s At” from Beck’s 1996 album, Odelay. He played keyboards on tour for the Omar Rodriguez-Lopez Quintet in support of their self-titled album. He has since become a full member of the quintet, appearing on the live EP with Damo Suzuki called Please Heat This Eventually and several other albums, with his debut full-length collaboration with the group being the Quintet’s second LP release, The Apocalypse Inside of an Orange. He appeared in the 2004 documentary film Moog and Bruce Haack. In September 2006, Money Mark signed to Jack Johnson’s Brushfire Records label. Brand New By Tomorrow, his first album with Brushfire, was released in February 2007. In late 2006, he opened for Gnarls Barkley at the Riviera Theatre in Chicago. In 2007, Money Mark and The Woodrow Jackson Orchestra recorded a cover version of Love Unlimited Orchestra’s “Love’s Theme” for Engine Room Recordings’ compilation album Guilt by Association. Money Mark composed original music for the 2008 documentary film Beautiful Losers. [1] In 2009, he appears as a member of Lord Newborn and The Magic Skulls, a collaboration with Shawn Lee and Tommy Guerrero.