The New LoFi

Ten Years

April 2022 Mixtape

This month we have new music from Kokoroko, Yukihiro Takahashi, Surprise Chef, Babe Rainbow, The Psychedelic Aliens…. and many more musicians with names you’ve never heard of 🙂

We’ve gone slightly off-script with this month’s mix by adding quite a few tracks from the 60s and 70s.

From Japanese soul to North African Jazz we’ve dug deep into the crates to pull out some absolute gems, including tunes from Abdou El Omari, Yukihiro Takahashi, and the Egyptian legend, ​​Salah Ragab & his Cairo Jazz Band. There’s is a lot of nostalgic 70s sound in the mix this month. Music that aims to sweep you away on a cloud of psychedelic keyboards and yearning hornwork. Like the third track, called “In Mind” by the excellently named Yannis Dreamlake and “The Sweet Enoughs”

But let’s be honest… sometimes it’s good to go back through time to see where a lot of the music from today is being inspired from. And there is plenty of new music on the mix as well. There are new tracks by Kyoto Jazz Massive, Cochemea, Aver and Move 78. And I think It’s very easy to see how their music was inspired by these sounds of the 60s and 70s.

See if you can spot what’s new and what’s old on the mix.

April 2022 Mixtape Playlist

  1. Kiyoshi Yamaya – Nanbu Ushioi-Uta (feat. Kifu Mitsuhashi) (04:47)
  2. Yukihiro Takahashi – Present (09:13)
  3. The Sweet Enoughs – In Mind (13:47)
  4. Aver & Move 78 – Faye (16:48)
  5. Okvsho – Joga Bonito (20:52)
  6. Kyoto Jazz Massive – Astral Ascension (26:14)
  7. Nathaniel Cross – Goodbye for Now (33:09)
  8. I Marc 4 – Andre (40:16)
  9. Peter King – Ajo (43:04)
  10. Voilaaa – Tenor Jam for Manu (46:57)
  11. Salah Ragab – Neveen (50:28)
  12. Cochemea – Tukaria (58:17)
  13. Ernest Honny – Kofi Psych (01:02:03)
  14. Abdou El Omari – Rajaat Laayoun / رجعت العيون (01:06:28)
  15. Derya Yildirim and Grup Simsek – HAYDAR HAYDAR (01:11:41)
  16. The Psychedelic Aliens – Hijacking (01:16:00)
  17. Alain Goraguer – Sour Soul (feat. Poo-Pah) (01:18:53)
  18. Fabiano Do Nascimento – Baião (01:21:42)
  19. Babe Rainbow – The Wind (01:26:02)
  20. Surprise Chef – New Ferrari (01:30:15)
  21. Kokoroko – Something’s Going On (01:34:28)
  22. sir Was – The Sun Will Shine (01:39:28)
  23. Common Saints – Idol Eyes (01:42:42)
  24. MOVE 78 – Middling (01:47:23)
  25. Silicon Chip – Basil Kirchin (1979) (01:51:41)
  26. Traks – Wild Safari (Todd Terje Edit) (01:55:44)
  27. Sleazy McQueen – Mrs Vanderbilt (02:00:27)
  28. Group Listening – Sunset Village (02:05:43)

By the way, The New LoFi has just turned ten years old and we are celebrating with a 10-track compilation featuring 10 of our favorite musicians from the past decade. If you want to get involved, order the limited-edition blue vinyl here.