The New LoFi

Ten Years

September 2018 Mixtape

It’s officially the first day of Autumn and to celebrate we’ve compiled this little playlist of autumnal tracks. It’s packed with soul, hip hop and just a touch of dark electro to get you ready for the colder weather to come.

The mix starts off with a track from two men that have been leading the hip hop scene in the UK: Tom Misch and Loyle Carner. The single is called “Water Baby” and it’s off of Tom Misch’s new album Geography. We continue the British hip hop vibes with two tracks from Manchester rapper, Black Josh and then we slowly ease you into some chilled out beats curtesy of Stan Forebee.

The playlist starts to get a little heavier when we mix bit of electro beats in from Maise, Hoodboi and Rich the Kid. It still has a hip hop vibe to it, but with an electro twist. If all of that is too hardcore for you however, don’t worry, the mixtape lightens up with a Tensnake remix of Cut Copy’s track “Standing in the Middle of the Field.” There’s also a new one from a band called Das Body which is fantastic. If you like Arcade Fire, you’ll like Das Body. Definitely check them out.

The mix finishes with a few tracks that belong on the experimental end of the spectrum (in a good way). Including a fantastic thirteen minute track by an Ethiopian artist called Mikael Seifu. It’s like nothing you’ve heard before.

BONUS TRACK! There’s one last track at the end from American Antifolk legend, Lach. If you haven’t heard of Lach before then you should check out a few of his tracks on Soundcloud. We were also able to sit down and chat with him about, folk music, New York, the future of the music business, and transcendent enlightenment. Check out the interview here.

Learn more about each artist by clicking on the track title in the playlist below. You can also download the whole mix by right clicking on the title of the podcast and selecting “Save As…”

Alternatively, the Monthly Mixtape is now available on iTunes and Spotify.

…or just stream the mix below:

TNLF 2018 September Mixtape

The New LoFi monthly mixtape is an hour-long mix covering all of the music posted to the blog last month. Want to be cooler than all your friends with the latest tracks from artists you’ve never heard of? This is the mix you need to listen to.

  1. Tom Misch – Water Baby (feat. Loyle Carner) (00:00)
  2. Mac Miller – What’s the Use? (04:27)
  3. Black Josh – Know About It (08:47)
  4. Black Josh – Dem Ways (11:57)
  5. Stan Forebee — Kensington (feat. Kyle McEvoy) (14:18)
  6. Rich The Kid – Plug Walk (MAISE Edit) (17:31)
  7. Hoodboi — Breathing Room (21:05)
  8. Cut Copy — Standing in the Middle of the Field (Tensnake remix) (23:46)
  9. Das Body – Graceland (29:39)
  10. Kraak & Smaak – I’ll Be Loving You (32:42)
  11. Bels Lontano – Orchard (37:47)
  12. Mikael Seifu – Brass (40:43)
  13. Lach – Stunned (52:05)